Rules, rules, rules

Cristian Mihai

Those who can, do; those who can’t, teach.*

Sometimes I feel there are more writers teaching others how to write, passing down rules, than there are writers who actually write.

It’s easier to teach than to do, and it feels like a nice shortcut towards fame, success, money, whatever.

I do my best not to teach anyone how to write. I want to believe I’m just writing about my own process. If someone finds motivation, or inspiration, or something else worth applying in their own process, that’s cool. If not, it’s still cool.

So, yeah, there are a lot of rules being passed down. Most of them won’t apply to everyone.

View original post 989 more words

One thought on “Rules, rules, rules

  1. Reblogged this on hiddenrose-va service provider and commented:
    I like this article a lot but to this “Those who can, do; those who can’t, teach.*, I have to admit that I am not totally agree with that. Why? Let me put it this way; how someone can teach about writing when he never knows how to write? Come on, give me a feedback!
    Finally, yes that’s absolutely true! “Practice makes perfect, but you should also be aware that writing is an art.” That;s cool!

Leave a Reply

